Urban Cinefile  
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Saturday February 1, 2020 


The Independent Producer of the Year Award for 2010 was awarded to Christopher Mapp of Omnilab at the Screen Producers Association of Australia (SPAA) Conference at The Hilton Hotel in Sydney (November 16 - 19).

Christopher Mapp, Executive Producer of Tomorrow When The War Began, is Managing Director of Omnilab Media – a leading Australian & New Zealand integrated media and technology company which comprises seventeen businesses specialising in film and television content development; media professional services; media infrastructure and technology; and content sales and distribution. 

Omnilab Media’s current feature film slate includes The Killer Elite starring Robert De Niro, and Clive Owen; the 3D feature film Power of the Dark Crystal with The Jim Henson Company; and the horror film The Loved Ones. As executive producer Christopher’s international co-funding deals have included: Dylan Dog: Dead of Night; Bran Nu Dae; The Messenger starring Woody Harrelson (nominated for two 2010 Academy Awards), the controversial “W” directed by Oliver Stone, and The Bank Job directed by Roger Donaldson.

"The Maura Fay Award - awarded to Alan Finney"

The Maura Fay Award for Services to the Industry, named in memory of the late and dearly loved Maura Fay, was awarded to Alan Finney This award is in recognition of an individual’s continuous and outstanding service to the industry. 

In 1971 Alan joined Roadshow Film Distributors and was involved with the production and distribution of titles such as Alvin Purple, Alvin Rides Again, Petersen, End Play and Eliza Fraser. During his time with Roadshow Film Distributors, Alan supervised the release of many Australian titles including Mad Max, Breaker Morant, Proof, Romper Stomper, Bad Boy Bubby, The Piano, Muriel’s Wedding, Priscilla: Queen of the Desert, The Castle and The Man Who Sued God. He joined Buena Vista International (now Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures) in 1998 as Vice President and Managing Director (Australian and New Zealand). He left the Disney Company in 2010. He also served on the Board of the Australian Centre for The Moving Image and as a Board Member of The Australian Film Institute. 

All the winners:-
Media Super Independent Producer of the Year: 
Christopher Mapp, Omnilab Media

Maura Fay Award for Services to the Industry: 
Alan Finney

Feature Film: 
Porchlight Films
Production: Animal Kingdom

Children’s Television: 

Matchbox Pictures
Production: My Place

Television Drama: 
Ruby Entertainment
Production: Bed of Roses Series 2

Television Light Entertainment:
Granada Media
Production: Talkin’ 'Bout Your Generation

Renegade Films
Production: Jailbirds

New Media: 
Firelight Productions
Production: Storm Surfers

Nicole Minchin
Production: The Lowdown

Service and Facilities: 

The SPAA Independent Producer Awards, established in 2001, are awarded to SPAA members who have produced an outstanding project or body of work that has contributed to the advancement of the independent production industry. The projects must have been broadcast on Australian television (FTA or Pay) or screened in Australian cinemas in the prior financial year. 

SPAA’s Executive Director, Geoff Brown says, “The SPAA Independent Producer Awards recognise business as a craft within our industry. The producers acknowledged today demonstrate the strength and breadth, in terms of both content and production value that the independent production sector is capable of delivering to our screens.”

Published November 17, 2010

Email this article

Christopher Mapp

Opening day highlights - support the arts as much as sports, Margaret Pomeranz calls on Governments in Hector Crawford Memorial speech at SPAA conference

Animal Kingdom

Alan Finney

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020