Urban Cinefile  
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Saturday February 1, 2020 


The winners of this year's Screen Composers Awards will be announced at a gala event in Sydney at the City Recital Hall on Tuesday 8 November where the screen music community will gather to celebrate the composers who write music for the small and large screen. They will be joined by Emmy Award winning screen composer Ashley Irwin, who will lead a live orchestra that will perform a selection of nominated compositions. The Chaserís Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen will host the ceremony.

The nominations were announced this week. Awards are presented by APRA and the AGSC.

Feature Film Score of the Year
99 Homes
Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales

Crew Cut
Timothy Cheel and Christopher Larkin

Cezary Skubiszewski

The Dressmaker
David Hirschfelder

Best Music for a Documentary

Getting Frank Gehry
Caitlin Yeo

Antony Partos

Putuparri and the Rainmakers
David Bridie, Mushroom Music

The Will to Fly
Tom Rouch, Native Tongue Music Publishing

Best Music for a Short Film

Banana Boy
Adam Moses

Daisy Chain
Hylton Mowday

Letting Blood
Nicholas Robert Thayer

Michael Yezerski with additional music by Helen Grimley
Best Soundtrack Album

All About E
Basil Hogios

Only the Dead
Michael Yezerski

Antony Partos

The Dressmaker
David Hirschfelder

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen

Dancing in the Darkness from The Letdown
Darren Seltmann and Sally Seltmann*
Sony ATV Music Publishing Australia*

Maurice's Big Adventure from Big Adventure
Sean Peter, ABC Music Publishing

Those Friends of Mine from Pawno
Tristan Dewey, Tai Jordan and Mark Pearl

When You Were on the Run from No Activity
Cameron Bruce

Best Music for a Mini Series or Telemovie

DNA Nation
Matteo Zingales

Peter Allen: Not the Boy Next Door
Michael Yezerski and Ashley Irwin
Shine Australia

Secret City
David Bridie
Mushroom Music

The Beautiful Lie
Alan John

Published October 6, 2016

Email this article



The Dressmaker


© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020