Urban Cinefile
"I find pressure really makes my brain work. I like it, but sometimes that's frightening and the first couple of days I really blew. I just got it wrong"  -Sam Mendes on directing American Beauty
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Wednesday August 14, 2019 

Printable page PRINTABLE PAGE



David Hirschfelder’s 7th screen music award and 5th for a feature film score, for Children of the Silk Road, concluded a night of exhilarating screen music celebrations at Sydney’s City Recital Hall on Monday November 3, 2008, which also recognised veteran composing duo, Garry McDonald and Laurie Stone, and provided a platform for the night’s musical director Cezary Skubiszewski to have the 10 piece ensemble perform his spectacular composition, November Overture.

To be precise, it was Josh Pyke’s performance of the song When We Get There from The Black Balloon, which closed the night, after the song, which Pyke co-wrote with Michael Yezerski, won the award for Best Original Song for a Feature; Yezerski’s score for the film also won, for Best Soundtrack Album.

Another double award winner was Burkhard Dallwitz, whose theme for Underbelly won the Best TV Theme award and his work on Ep 5 of the series won the award for Best Music for a TV Series or Serial.

Skubiszewski won not only further admiration for his musicianship by arranging all the nominated music cues that were performed on the night, he also took home the award for Best Music for a Documentary for his outstanding work on Lawrence Johnston’s Night.

Following the awards presentations, hosted by H.G. Nelson, guests enjoyed a gala dinner at the stylish Ivy Room.

Best Feature Film Score:
Title Children of The Silk Road
Composer David Hirschfelder

International Achievement Award
Composers Garry McDonald and Laurie Stone

Best Music for a Documentary
Title Night
Composer Cezary Skubiszewski
Publisher J Albert and Son Pty Ltd

Best Music for a Short Film
Title Noir Drive
Composer Geoffrey Russell

Best Soundtrack Album
Title The Black Balloon
Composer Michael Yezerski
Publisher inSync Music Publishing

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen

Title When We Get There – The Black Balloon
Composers Josh Pyke* and Michael Yezerski^
Publishers Ivy League Music / Mushroom Music Pty Ltd* and inSync Music Publishing^

Best Music for Children’s Television
Title Animalia: "Butterfly Winter"
Composer Christopher Elves
Publishers Fintage Publishing and Collection Australia on behalf of Animalia Productions Pty Ltd

Best Television Theme
Title Underbelly
Composer Burkhard Dallwitz

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial
Title Underbelly – Episode 5
Composer Burkhard Dallwitz

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie

Title Emerald Falls
Composer Richard Pleasance
Publisher Mushroom Music Pty Ltd

Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia
Composer Jay Stewart

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas

Composer Neil Sutherland

Published November 6, 2008

Email this article

Children of the Silk Road

David Hirschfelder

Black Balloon

Cezary Skubiszewski


Garry McDonald and Laurie Stone

Burkhard Dallwitz

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2019