Urban Cinefile
"Life's changed and forced me to get my act together personally. I've had to grow up a bit"  -Actress, Frances O'Connor
 The World of Film in Australia - on the Internet Updated Sunday July 12, 2020 

Printable page PRINTABLE PAGE



The Sydney based Film Critics Circle has (belatedly) completed this year’s movie awards season (for last year’s releases) with its gongs for Australian features, voting Snowtown Best Film. 

Snowtown director Justin Kurzel also won the Best Director award, and Daniel Henshall the Best Actor. 

Frances O'Connor (The Hunter) and Alexandra Schepisi (The Eye of the Storm) shared the Best Supporting Actress award, with the latter film also winning Best Screenplay by Judy Morris.

Burning Man won two awards: Best Score by Lisa Gerrard and Best Editing by Martin Connor.

The evening was sponsored by Foxtel and Universal International Pictures with in kind sponsorship from Palace Cinemas, Icon and Hopscotch.

Best Film
Producers: Anna McLeish, Sarah Shaw

Burning Man 
Producers: Jonathan Teplitzky, Andy Paterson
The Eye of the Storm, 
Producers: Gregory J. Read, Antony Waddington, Fred Schepisi
The Hunter 
Producer: Vincent Sheehan
Oranges and Sunshine 
Producers: Camilla Bray, Emile Sherman, Iain Canning

Best Director
Justin Kurzel - Snowtown
Daniel Nettheim - The Hunter, 
Fred Schepisi - The Eye of the Storm
Kriv Stenders - Red Dog
Jonathan Teplitzky - Burning Man

Best Actress Leading Role
Emily Watson - Oranges and Sunshine
Emily Browning - Sleeping Beauty
Judy Davis - TheEye of the Storm
Bojana Novakovic - Burning Man

Best Actor Leading Role
Daniel Henshall - Snowtown
Matthew Goode - Burning Man
Geoffrey Rush - Eye of the Storm, The
David Wenham - Oranges and Sunshine

Best Actress Supporting Role
Frances O'Connor – The Hunter
Alexandra Schepisi – The Eye of the Storm
Essie Davis - Burning Man
Louise Harris - Snowtown

Best Performance by a Young Actor
Daniel Connors - Toomelah
Morgana Davies - Hunter, The
Jack Heanly - Burning Man
Finn Woodlock - Hunter, The

Best Screenplay
Judy Morris – The Eye of the Storm
Shaun Grant - Snowtown
Jonathan Teplitzky - Burning Man

Best Cinematography
Robert Humphreys – The Hunter
Adam Arkapaw - Snowtown
Garry Phillips - Burning Man

Best Music Score
Lisa Gerrard - Burning Man
Jed Kurzel - Snowtown
Matteo Zingales, Michael Lira, Andrew Lancaster- Hunter, The
Cezary Skubiszewski - Red Dog

Best Editor
Martin Connor - Burning Man
Jill Bilcock - Red Dog
Veronika Jenet- Snowtown

Published April 11, 2012

Email this article


Emily Watson - Oranges and Sunshine

Daniel Henshall - Snowtown


Eye of the Storm

The Hunter

Burning Man

© Urban Cinefile 1997 - 2020